Candidates for new judges election in July 2010

The African Union’s Executive Council will be electing five judges to the African Court during the AU Summit in Kampala in the third week of July 2010.

The list of seven candidates, which includes African Court judges eligible for re-election namely Guisse, Fannoush and Ouguergouz, comprises the following:

  • West Africa:
    Ms Elsie Nwanuri Thompson (Nigeria), lawyer and member of the Nigerian Bar Association, formerly a member of the International Federation of Women Lawyers, and currently judge of the High Court of Rivers State, Nigeria;
    Mr Sylvain Ore (Côte d’Ivoire), a member of the Côte d’Ivoire Bar and Ivorian League of Human Rights; and
    Mr El Hadj Guisse (Senegal), lawyer, former member of the Senegalese Committee for Human Rights, and member of the United Nations subcommittee on the prevention of discriminatory practices and the protection of minorities
  • East Africa:
    Mr Augustino Stephen Ramadhani (Tanzania), a lawyer, formerly chief justice of Tanzania and judge of the East African Court of Justice
  • Southern Africa:
    Mr Duncan Green Tambala (Malawi), lawyer, formerly the chairperson of the Inspectorate of Prisons in Malawi and member of the Special Review Commission on the Constitution of Malawi and currently a justice of the Court of Appeal in Malawi.
  • North Africa:
    Mr Fatsah Ouguergouz (Algeria), an academic with a doctorate in international law, formerly secretary of the International Court of Justice, and author of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights – a Comprehensive Agenda for Human Dignity and Sustainable Democracy in Africa.
    Mr Hamdi Faraj Fannoush (Libya), a lawyer and magistrate in Libya.

In order to ensure impartiality of candidates, governments should not nominate the following people: members of government, a minister or under-secretary of state, a diplomatic representative, a director of a ministry and his or her sub-ordinates, and a legal adviser to a foreign office.

The recommended regional representation is as follows: East Africa (2); Southern Africa (2); North Africa (2); Central Africa (2); West Africa (3). At present, there are two judges from West Africa; one from Southern Africa as the other, judge Mafoso- Guni is not standing for re-election when her term ends in July; two from Central Africa; one from East Africa; for North Africa judges Ouguergouz and Fannoush will be available for re-election when their terms end in July. No two judges can be from the same country. The elected judges will serve a six-year term.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *