Coalition presents the new bureau of the AfCHPR

Hon. Justice Sylvain Oré from Côte d’Ivoire has been elected President to succeed Hon. Judge Augustino Ramadhani (Tanzania) and Hon. Justice Ben Kioko from Kenya was elected Vice President to succeed Hon. Lady Justice Elsie Thompson (Nigeria).

The term of office of Hon. Justice Fatsah Ouguergouz (Algeria) and Hon. Justice Duncan Tambala (Malawi) came to an end on 5 September, 2016.

The session also swore-in two newly elected Judges – Hon. Lady Justice Ntyam Ondo Mengue from Cameroon and Hon. Lady Justice Marie Thérése Mukamulisa from Rwanda.

During the session, the Judges, among other things, will examine 70 applications and four requests for Advisory Opinions.

1. The Court is composed of eleven judges, nationals of the Member States of the African Union elected in their individual capacity. The President and Vice President are elected for a term of two years and are eligible to be re-elected for another final term of two years.

2. The Court meets four times a year in Ordinary Sessions and may hold Extra-Ordinary Sessions.

Further information can be obtained from the Court’s website at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *