Five commissioners elected to the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights

The African Union’s Executive Council elected 5 members to the African Commission at the AU Malabo Summit on 28 June 2011.

The new commissioners are:


  • Ms Maya Sahli Fadel (Algeria), lecturer in Public International Law and Human Rights;
  • Ms Alapini Reine-Gansou (Benin), former commissioner at the African Commission and lawyer;
  • Mr Med Kaggwa (Uganda), lawyer and member of the Uganda Human Rights Commission;
  • Mr Pacifique Manirakiza (Burundi), professor of international law;
  • Ms Pansy Tlakula (South Africa), former commissioner at the African Commission, lawyer and current chief executive officer of the Independent Electoral Commission of South Africa.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *