New Judges appointed to the African Court

During its 25th Ordinary Session held from 24 to 25 June 2014, the Executive Council of the African Union re-elected Justice Sylvain Oré (Côte d’Ivoire), and at its 23rd Ordinary Session held from 26 to 27 June, 2014 in Malabo, Equatorial Guinea, the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the African Union re-appointed him for a six year term.

The Executive Council also elected three new Judges who were appointed by the Assembly for the same term.

The new Judges are:
– Mrs. Solomy Balungi Bossa (Uganda);
– Mr. Rafaa Ben Achour (Tunisia)
– Mr. Angelo Vasco Matusse (Mozambique).

The new Judges will replace Lady Justice Sophia A. B. Akuffo (current President) from Ghana and Justice Bernard M. Ngoepe (current Vice President) from South Africa, who have served the statutory two terms required by the Protocol establishing the Court, and are thus not eligible for re-appointment, as well as Justice Kimelabalou Aba (Togo), who was not re- elected.

The new Judges will be sworn-in at a public sitting of the Court, on 8 September 2014, at the Seat of the Court in Arusha, Tanzania, in accordance with Rule 2(1) of the Rules of Court.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *