Access to the Court

The following entities can take cases before the Court:

  • The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights;
  • States Parties that were complainants or respondents to a complaint before the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights;
  • State Parties that have an interest in a case;
  • African inter-governmental organisations; and
  • Non-governmental organisations with observer status at the African Commission and ordinary individuals – but only when the State Party against which the complaint is lodged has made a declaration allowing individuals or non-governmental organisations direct access to the Court.

As of August 2013 the following seven countries had made the declaration allowing for direct access:

Burkina Faso; Mali; Malawi; Tanzania; Ghana; Rwanda and Côte d’Ivoire.